Adventures with a Dragon Fruit

After 2 years of searching, I finally found my very own Dragon Fruit!!!

DF2

 

DF1

Getting my little hands on this beautiful-pink-exotic fruit has been on my “Food Bucket List” for quite some time now. When I saw a basket full of pink Dragon Fruits at the grocery store, I could hardly believe my eyes. The moment I spotted the dragon fruit, I began to run towards it at full speed (which wasn’t very fast considering I was wearing heels as usual) as I pinched myself along the way to make sure I wasn’t dreaming! My blonde hair flowing in the wind, dodging housewives, kids and grandmas right and left (insert dramatic music here.) In my imagination, I pictured myself fighting off hundreds of housewives to get my hands on one of these… but the other people in the store seemed to care less that there was a Dragon Fruit in their presence. Obviously they didn’t know what they were missing.

Finally, when I got my hands on one of these precious gems, it was if the heavens opened up the grocery store ceiling, and the angels started singing! I grabbed my phone, and asked the nearest housewife to snap a picture of me kissing it, yes right in the middle of the store. I have no shame… and proud of it!

 

Brittany Dragon Fruit

My first instinct was to FILL MY WHOLE SHOPPING CART with Dragon fruits, but after laying eyes on the $5.99 price tag, that instinct flew right out of the hole in the ceiling that the singing angels made.

After texting all my best friends a picture of my juicy pink victory, I went right home and cut it open with my boyfriend.

This is what they look like inside-

Dragon Fruit1

Unfortunately, after 2 years of searching… I didn’t like the taste. It tasted like the green part of a watermelon that’s left over after you’ve eaten all the sweet pink parts. Perhaps it hadn’t been ripened yet, but I wasn’t about to spend another $5.99 to find out. Next time, I’m going to try and make a smoothie out of a Dragon Fruit, maybe I’ll like that better.

That concludes my adventures with a Dragon Fruit, now time to find another exotic fruit to add to my Food Bucket List!

 

Fitspirational Positivity <3

