How much protein should you be eating every day?

I worked at Warp Tour in San Diego yesterday (the big music concert) and I was so excited when I found a vegetarian/vegan booth!

I’m pretty sure I spent at least 30 mins talking to the booth owners about some new fabulous vegetarian recipes. What I can I say, I love every minute of being a life-long vegetarian! Anyway, in the midst of our savory conversation, we stumbled upon the subject of daily protein intake.

Then the question arose: How much protein should I be eating every day?

The vegetarian/vegan booth owner Megan, jumped at the chance to hand me this awesome sheet about our daily protein needs. Check it out! Vegetarians, Vegans AND meat-eaters should get familiar with how much protein their bodies need.

image

To calculate your daily protein needs in grams, use this equation above that I highlighted in pink above!

Body weight x 0.36

Here’s mine-
100 x. 036= 36 grams of protein

Now let’s break this down even more; what does 36 grams of protein look like in food form?

image

As you can see,  Seitan (not sure what this is, but I’m going to Google it) has the highest protein value of the group, followed by tofu.  Unfortunately, my avocado obsession didn’t make the list. A medium avocado only has 4 grams of protein. That means I’d have to eat 9 avocados to get my daily protein need fulfilled. Ok ok ok… I may be an avocado fanatic, however I’m sure that obsession would end pretty quick with 9 avocados a day!

Take a minute to figure out your own daily protein needs. Test out those dusty math skills from high-school, that you never thought you’d use again. Don’t worry, I made sure to leave out the dreaded “F” word out of this equation (NO FRACTIONS ALLOWED ON THIS HEALTH BLOG!)

Put 2 tbsp of peanut butter on a piece of wheat toast tomorrow morning, and begin your day with a healthy protein smile 🙂

 

P.S on a side note, one of my best friends Sarai (who is also a vegetarian, yay) and I had a BLAST in the photo booth that was in our tent!

Spotify1

Fitspirational Positivity <3

