7 ways to make a boring salad more fun and healthy :)

Now that you’ve made the decision to put a fitspirational “spin” on your healthy lifestyle, prepare to discover the delicious world of salads! Salads are great because not only do they give your body a good cleansing- they can be incredibly filling, and are customizable to your personal need. Take this post as an opportunity to add more salads to your life, and break out of the boring world of iceberg lettuce and ranch dressing.

 

Healthy Salad Tip

1.) Add fruits and veggies- Fruits and Vegetables are a fabulous way to spice up a boring salad. If pared with the right dressings, it can make an average side salad into an entire meal!

2.) Go nuts- There’s nothing like adding some protein to the mix. Candy-up some walnuts, or toss some sliced almonds in with your salad creation. Pine nuts, pistachios and caramelized cashews are some of my personal nutty favorites.

3.) AVOCADO!- I know I already made a veggie section… but I had to make a special number just for avocado. I’m not even kidding, I pretty much add avocado to every salad if I can get my hands on them. (If you’ve been following me for a while, you’re probably already aware of my avocado obsession.) AND PROUD OF IT! Pack in the protein again with these delicious slices of heaven!

4.) Chill it- Popping the salad in the freezer for 3-5 minutes right before you eat it makes the leaves much crispier and leaves you with that freshly satisfying salad taste.

5.) Dark leafy greens– Adding some spinach and dark greens into your salad not only makes it healthier, it gives it a spectacularly colorful look too. There’s nothing more fun then seeing 90830974290847 colors jumping out at you in your salad. I especially love adding red lettuce as well.

6.) Let’s get cheesy- Top 3 favorite cheeses to add to salads: Feta, Crumbled Blue Cheese, Goat Cheese. Ok guys, when I say add cheese to your salad… I’m NOT saying add salad to your cheese. In other words, don’t go crazy with your cheesy obsession. Use cheese as a flavorful compliment, not the foundation of your salad.

7.) Have fun with it- One of the ways I absolutely fell in love with the spectacular world of salads was having a blast creating them in my kitchen! The prettier I could possibly make them look, the healthier they became and the more excited I was to eat them up. Put on your favorite music (I like listening to country music when I’m cooking) and dance around in your kitchen!

8.) Get Creative- Unless your fridge looks like it just got eaten out in a zombie apocalypse, there’s a pretty great chance you have plenty of salad ingredients sitting on the shelves already. Release your inner Julia Childs (minus the 10 sticks of butter) and have fun with the wonderful things you find lying around in your fridge. My summer salad recipe was created by having fun with existing fridge ingredients.

 

Fitspirational Positivity <3

