Learning how to sauté: caramelized honey-mushrooms

image

image

 

As I take more and more steps towards learning to cook, I’m discovering new ways to prepare food! Last month, my wonderful Boyfriend Bryan introduced me to the world of mushrooms and I fell in love.

Sautéing and caramelizing the Portabella mushrooms is by far my favorite way to eat them.

These caramelized baby “Bellas” are perfect to add to any sandwich, pizza or pasta dish!

How to:

  1. Slice up your mushrooms into relatively even slices. Make sure not to slice them too thick (because they take much longer to sauté.)
  2. Add a teaspoon of olive oil (or any oil of choice, I like olive oil because it’s healthier and more flavorful in the mushrooms.) TIP** Start out with less oil then you think you need. A little oil goes a long way, you can always add more. You’ll look pretty silly soaking up extra oil with a napkin, trying to prevent your mushrooms from getting too soggy. (I did that on my first attempt, and I’ll make a post soon about the do’s and don’ts of sautéing veggies.)
  3. Add the mushrooms to the warm oil, and flip in about 3-5 mins (when they look golden brown.)
  4. Drizzle some organic honey over your mushrooms on the last few minutes and let them get sweet and caramelized.
  5. Set them on a paper towel! I like to get as much oil out of those babies as I can before I eat them.

Put them on a pizza, add them to a summer salad, or even add them to a Fettuccini pasta or your favorite panini sandwich. You can get creative with this too, and add some of your favorite spices to the mushrooms before you take them off the heat. I add a bit of pepper.

YUM!

Fitspirational Positivity <3

