When I tell people “I’m A Vegetarian”, they say:

 

Image

“Oh…Does that mean you eat fish?” 

“You must be a member of Pita” 

“Why did the tofu cross the road? To prove he wasn’t chicken.”

“Oh you’re a vegetarian?? It’s okay I’ll make Lamb.”

“If vegetarians eat vegetables, what do humanitarians eat?”

“I’m a Vegetarian too.. except I eat Chicken and Fish” 

“I tried being vegetarian once… and then I passed an In-N-Out”

“Do you eat animal crackers?”

Some clever answers Vegetarian’s can reply with:

“What if I was kidnapped and the only way I could be released was if you ate a steak?”

Answer: I’d eat the steak, you’d release me and I’d go straight to the police, get you arrested, and you’d end up with a criminal record. Not a smart move, eh?

“God put animals on the earth to be eaten”

Answer: I’m an atheist.

“You can’t live without meat!”

Answer: OMG, I must be a ghost then.

“You’ll get ill and die, because you’ll be anemic and not get enough protein!”

Answer: Are a dietitian? No? I’d rather take my nutritional advice from someone with a qualification in diet than an idiot who stuff McDonalds in their face.

“Why don’t you eat fish, fish isn’t meat, it’s fish!”

Answer: Really? Wow, when was the last time you saw a field of fish swaying gently in the breeze.

Usually when someone asks me to define being a vegetarian: I just say “I don’t eat anything with a face” 

Have a wonderful and healthy day guys!! 

*Don’t take life too seriously, sometimes you have to just sit back and laugh a little 🙂 

7 thoughts on “When I tell people “I’m A Vegetarian”, they say:

      • Yep! Since I was little, I’ve always been the only vegetarian in my whole family too. I’ve never had meat, so it’s not difficult to maintain the lifestyle now. Was it hard for you to pursue being vegan? I’ve thought about trying out the vegan lifestyle, but my love for cheese is keeping me from attempting haha 🙂

      • Going vegan wasn’t especially difficult for me. Protein needs can be met with a vegan diet rather easily. Dairy seemed to be playing a role in my sinus problems, so I had to give it up. It seems so icky to me now. Have you tried any vegan cheese? Your blog is always inspirational.

      • I haven’t dived into the world of vegan cheeses yet, but you’ve definitely inspired me to go taste some! Sorry to hear about your dairy issues, have you found any delicious brands that taste similar to regular cheese? At least it wasn’t hard for you to give up dairy, i’d probably go into grilled cheese withdraws haha 🙂

      • Daiya vegan cheese tastes pretty good to me. There’s also Road’s End Organic Vegan macaroni and Chreese and that’s good too. Some people may not appreciate it though.

        Some vegans will make their own vegan cheese from scratch using cashews that are pureed with other ingredients, but I haven’t made this yet. There’s a growing list of vegan options out there. It gets frustrating when certain vegetarian cheese brands are soy based but add casein, a milk protein for flavor, which I am allergic to. Luckily Daiya and Road’s End don’t do this. It’s a lot of fun exploring the options.

Fitspirational Positivity <3

